Exploring the Universe

My favorite cup

Coffee-lovers were invited to join in celebrating My Cup of Coffee at One Sister’s Rant.

My favorite cup was purchased from the Butterfly House in St Louis, MO. My sisters and I had a weekend celebrating being sisters.

We hadn’t seen each other in more than a couple of years. We flew into St. Louis from Little Rock and Washington, D.C. for an extended weekend. We got haircuts, manicures, and pedicures, gambled on the steamboats and talked. And talked and talked.

One day we went to the Butterfly House. My brother-in-law and I took pictures while my sisters enjoyed watching the antics of the butterflies and the photographers.

I order my coffee from Gevalia. I like the Breakfast Blend for the first cup in the morning. I like several of their blends but that is my favorite.

Back to the coffee cup. Every time I use it, I am reminded of our sisters weekend and the fun we had.

Do you have a favorite cup of coffee? Do you favor one brand over another?

P.S. My sister called to say the link went to NASA instead of One Sister’s Rant so I’ve corrected that. Thanks, sister.

Comments on: "My Cup of Coffee" (25)

  1. Oh, I most definitely have a favorite coffee mug. I had mugs made up by the company that took school pictures of my daughter. Her picture is on the side of a very big, well-made mug and I drink from it every morning. I bought several so that if it ever breaks I’ll have others!
    Patti

  2. Ooooooh, I adore coffee, but alas, coffee does not love me. Makes me physically ill if I have as much as one cup. Dang it all. Still, I sneak one in every now and then and take my chances!

    I love your cup and I would love to see Patricia’s cup with her daughter’s picture on it. That’s such a cute idea. I use a 20 oz clear mug for my tea. I need a cute mug. ; )

  3. Linda, your cup is lovely! Isn’t it wonderful when we have little treasures that remind us of good times? I also love the breakfast blend. Although in my case, it’s the Starbucks breakfast blend. My favorite cup was a present from my sister. One afternoon we were at Starbucks and she bought me one of the insulated tumblers because I told her my coffee got cold before I could finish it. It’s my favorite cup and it keeps my coffee warm longer! Thank you so much for participating! We’re happy to have you! :)

  4. I loved hearing about your sisters weekend. Those are such important memories to make!
    I only drink coffee that has chocolate in it (caffe mocca, moccachino). Some may say that’s cheating but for me it’s the only way!

  5. I just started drinking coffee literally last week, so I don’t have a favorite mug yet. I do have those really cool cups from Bed, Bath, and Beyond that keep hot drinks hot and cold drinks cold. You can microwave them and the inside gets hot, but not the outside. My mom loves them.

    • Thank you for commenting. Every diet I read says ditch the caffeine. Not happening in this house. I will limit how much I drink but not give it up altogether.

      I’ll investigate BBandB – my coffee always gets cold before I’m finished. Don’t care for cold coffee. What brand are they?

  6. Fun blog, Linda! Tipping my cup to you.

    I bought my favorite cup from Pier One when Linda and I were there one day. It comes with a tiny spoon in the handle. I like the flavor of decaf coffee and drink it half and half with soy milk. Hmm, does that mean I’m not a coffee lover? : )

  7. My coffee cup is from Nanowrimo 2008. It’s a 14 oz. mug that says “Can’t Talk; Noveling”. No one else is allowed to use it. :) As for coffee…I’ll drink it black, but I do use a splash of evaporated 2% milk on occasion. It’s got to be Starbucks or Peet’s.

  8. I think your coffee cup is very pretty and the fact you have such warm memories attached to it makes it very special indeed.

    My favorite coffee cup is from an old china pattern called The Brook. It’s red and white toile-like pattern with a little scene of an English country cottage and a brook. I love any coffee from Fresh Market and Starbucks but I’m also happy with plain old Maxwell House Breakfast Blend.

  9. Elena Aitken said:

    I’m not super fussy about my coffee. But I like it black and I like it NOW! I have a Kureig so I can have my coffee in an instant. Great blog. :)

  10. I love your cup! Butterflies and flowers always remind me of spring and make me smile. The odd thing is I hate coffee, but I do have a favorite coffee cup. It’s really large and has Tinker Bell on it. I fill it with milk in the summer and hot cocoa in the winter. When I write at home it’s what i’m drinking out of. When I look at it I get lost in my memory of Disneyland, which I call my happy place.
    What a great post. I learned a lot about what is special for you. What a great story.

    • I have another cup for my hot chocolate. It’s twice as tall. My granddaughter loves Tinker Bell and I have to admit a special fondness for her.
      Thanks for commenting.

  11. I don’t have a particular favorite mug although yours is gorgeous and I love how it always reminds you of your sister.
    My two favorite coffees are 1) my own blend of fine, medium roast with a dash of cinnamon and 2) if out and about, I do love a butter pecan latte. YUM!

  12. I have a favorite mug with a sister story as well. It’s such a beautiful reminder of the bond we share and the precious times we have together.

    Thanks for the memory.

    My favorite coffee: vanilla hazelnut latte. Dessert, I know!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

